

#### **NOTIFICATION**

### Shillong the 2nd December, 1991

**No. DC/L/VII/1/91/1154.** - In pursuance of paragraph 11 of the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India, the following Act of the District Council of the Khasi Hills Autonomous District, is hereby published for general information:-

# THE KHASI HILLS AUTONOMOUS DISTRICT (ADMINISTRATION OF ELAKA) ACT, 1991

(Passed by the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council on the 16th November, 1991)

(Received the assent of the Governor on 12th May, 2006) (Published in the Meghalaya Gazette on 17th May, 2006)

#### AN ACT

to provide for the administration of the Elakas in the Khasi Hills Autonomous District.

**Preamble:-** Whereas under the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India, the District Council for an Autonomous District is empowered to make laws with respect to the matter relating to village or town administration.

Now, therefore, the District Council of the Khasi Hills Autonomous District, in exercise of the powers conferred on it under Clause (f) of sub-paragraph (1) of paragraph 3 of the Sixth Schedule to the Constitution of India and of all other powers enabling it on that behalf hereby enacted in the Forty Second Year of the Republic of India as follows:-

- 1. Short Title, Extent and Commencement (i) This Act may be called the Khasi Hills Autonomous District (Administration of Elaka) Act, 1991.
  - (ii) It extends to the whole of the Khasi Hills Autonomous District.
  - (iii) It shall come into force at once.
- **2. Definition** In this Act unless there is anything repugnant in the subject or context:-
  - (i) "**Deputy Secretary**" means an officer who holds the post of Deputy Secretary, as may be appointed by the Executive Committee.
  - (ii) "Elaka" means any administrative unit within the Khasi Hills Autonomous District specified in Schedule I and II or any other Administrative unit to be constituted and declared as such by the Executive Committee.
  - (iii) **"Executive Committee"** means the Executive Committee of the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council.
  - (iv) "Schedule" means a schedule appended to this Act.
  - (v) "**Tribunal**" means a Tribunal constituted by the Executive Committee under this Act in the person not below the rank of a Deputy Secretary.
  - (vi) "Village" means an area where a number of houses has been grouped together under one village for administrative purposes.

- **3.** Formation of new villages and alteration of areas. Boundaries or names of existing villages:- The Chief and his Durbar with the approval of the Executive Committee may, if the majority of the people of the village or villages so desire, by public notification:-
  - (i) form a new village by separation of territory from any village or villages or by uniting two or more villages or part of villages or by uniting any territory to a part of any village.
  - (ii) increase the area of any village.
  - (iii) diminish the area of any village.
  - (iv) alter the boundaries of any village.
  - (v) alter the name of any village.
- **4. Boundary Dispute between Elakas**:- If a boundary dispute arises between two or more Elakas or between an Elaka and a village of another Elaka or between two villages of different Elakas, the dispute shall be referred by the Elaka or Elakas concerned, by a petition, to the Tribunal constituted by the Executive Committee for the purpose which shall decide accordingly.

Such petition shall be filed to the Secretary of the Executive Committee in duplicate accompanied by a fee of Rs. 250/- in cash.

An appeal against any order and decision of the Tribunal shall be referred by the aggrieved party or parties by a petition to the Executive Committee and its decision shall be final.

#### 5. Boundary dispute between Villages:-

- (1) If a boundary dispute arises between two or more villages of the same Elaka, the dispute shall be referred by the village or villages concerned to the Chief and his Durbar for decision.
- (2) An appeal against any order and decision of the Chief and his Durbar under sub-section (1) above shall be preferred by the aggrieved party or parties, by a petition, to the Tribunal constituted by the Executive Committee for the purpose which shall decide accordingly.

Provided that such appeal shall be filed to the Secretary of the Executive Committee accompanied by a fee of Rs. 250/- in cash within 30 days from the date of the order of the Chief and his Durbar is communicated or known to the party or parties concerned accompanied by a certified copy of the order appealed against;

Provided further that the appeal may be filed without a certified copy of the order appealed against if the party concerned satisfies the Executive Committee that such a copy is not obtainedable with a reasonable period.

- (3) An appeal against any order and decision of the Tribunal under subsection (2) above shall be referred by the aggrieved party or parties by a petition, to the Executive Committee and its decision shall be final.
- **6.** Notwithstanding the provisions of sub-sections (1) and (2) of section 5 above, every boundary dispute or appeal, pending on the date of commencement of this Act before the Executive Committee, shall be transferred for disposal by the Tribunal constituted under sub-sections (1) and (2) above and the decision of the Tribunal shall be final.

# STATEMENT OF OBJECTS AND REASONS

It has been considered necessary to make a law for smooth running of the administration of Elakas.

administration of Elakas.				
Hence this Act				
Certified that the above Act, was passed by the Khasi Hills Autonomous District Council on the 16th November, 1991.				
R. R. KYNSAI MAKDOH				
Chairman				
Khasi Hills Autonomous District Shillong				
No I assent to this Act.				

Dated, Shillong. The 12th May, 2006 M. M. JACOB GOVERNOR OF MEGHALAYA

# SCHEDULE - I

1. Bhowal Syiemship. 13. Nongspung Syiemship. 2. Khyrim Syiemship 14. Nobosohphoh Syiemship. 3. 15. Cherra Syiemship. Rambrai Syiemship. 16. 4. Langrin Syiemship. Jirang Syiemship. 5. Mylliem Syiemship. 17. Lyniong Lyngdohship. 6. Maharam Syiemship. 18. Mawphlang Lyngdohship. 7. Mawsynram Syiemship. 19. Sohiong Lyngdohship. Mariaw Syiemship. 20. Shella Confederacy. 8. 9. Mawiang Syiemship. 21. Dwara-Nongtyrnem Sirdarship. 10. 22. Malaisohmat Syiemship. Mawdon Sirdarship. 11. Nongstoin Syiemship. 23. Mawlong Sirdarship. 12. 24. Nongkhlaw Syiemship. Nonglwai Sirdarship. 25. Pamsanngut Sirdarship.

#### SCHEDULE - II

1.	Jyrngam Sirdarship.	16.	Nongshluid Sirdarship.
2.	Laitlyngkot Sirdarship.	17.	Nongriangsih Sirdarship.
3.	Laitkroh Sirdarship.	18.	Nonglang Sirdarship.
4.	Lakading Sirdarship.	19.	Nonglyngkien Sirdarship.
5.	Myrdon Sirdarship.	20.	Nonglait Sirdarship.
6.	Mawmluh Sirdarship.	21.	Ramdait Sirdarship.
7.	Mawbeh-Larkhar Sirdarship	22.	Saitsohpen Sirdarship.
8.	Mawsmai-Nongthymmai Sirdarship	23.	Synnei Sirdarship
9.	Marbisu Sirdarship	24.	Sinai-Mawshynrut Sirdarship
10.	Mynteng Sirdarship.	25.	Sohbar Sirdarship
11.	Nongbah Sirdarship.	26.	Tyrna Sirdarship.
12.	Nongpoh Sirdarship.	27.	Tynrong Sirdarship.
13.	Nongkroh Sirdarship.	28.	Tyriang Sirdarship.
14.	Nongjri Sirdarship.	29.	Umniuh-Tmar Sirdarship.
15.	Nongriat Sirdarship.	30.	Wahlong Sirdarship.